For Parents

Governing Council

School governance is a shared responsibility of the Governing Council and the Principal. The Governing Council is the peak decision making body of the school comprising of parent representatives, leadership and teaching staff, community members, and where necessary students. The Governing Council meets twice a term and has the responsibility of calling the Annual General Meeting (AGM).

The role of the Governing Council to ensure the participation of the school community in important decisions about the school directions, finances, policies and the education services it delivers. The Governing Council at Gulfview Heights Primary School is the employing body of the Canteen and Out of School Hours Care program.

The Governing Council has a number of school sub-committees to which it delegates specific roles, responsibilities and powers to ensure the ‘right advice’ is being provided to Councillors prior to changes being approved. 

The following subcommittees report to Governing Council at every meeting:
  • Finance
  • Out of School Hours care
  • Education (encompassing Curriculum reform & School Improvement planning & Review)
  • Canteen
  • Fundraising
  • School Pride (encompassing marketing and management of upgrades / redevelopment of facilities)
Our Governing Council constitution allows for a membership of up to 20 councillors, who are appointed for a term not exceeding two years. This membership includes:
  • 1 Principal
  • 1 staff member (nominated by the staff of the school)
  • 2 community members appointed by the Council
  • 14 elected parent representatives of the school
  • 2 students (nominated by the Student Voice representatives)
The current councillors are:
  • Tanya Lancaster (Chairperson)
  • Rhonda Gardner (Deputy Chairperson)
  • Narelle Rayment (Treasurer)
  • Kylie Chegwidden
  • Leila Belle
  • Tamara Howard
  • Kerrianne Best
  • Luke Jansons
  • Amanda Williams
  • Vikki Reed
  • Vicci Gibb
  • Jacqui O’Connor
  • Vicki Asikainen
  • Paula Starke (Secretary)
  • Lee Miles
  • Jackie Cridland (Community representative)
  • Skender Bayaziti / Nina Hancock (staff representatives sharing 1 vacancy)
  • Chris Zunis (Principal)
  • Susie Searles (Deputy Principal – non-voting member)
Translate »
Governing Council